Title 21 of the Health Occupations Article, Annotated Code of Maryland sets the education, experience and examination requirements that a person must satisfy to be licensed as an environmental health specialist in the State of Maryland.
Application fee: $100.00
Education, Experience and Examination Requirements
To qualify for a license, an applicant must satisfy the education, experience and examination requirements described in the health specialists licensing law. An applicant must meet the education and experience requirements to become eligible for examination.
The minimum education and experience requirements are:
Education- a baccalaureate degree (any major) from an accredited college or university that includes:
- at least 30 semester credit hours in the physical, biological or environmental sciences;
- at least one laboratory course in two of the following: chemistry, physics or biology; and
- a course in mathematics.
Experience- at least 24 months of practice as an environmental health specialist
An applicant can also qualify for examination with these other combinations of education and experience:
- A master’s degree in public health that includes the course work described in 1-3 above and 3 months in an internship approved by the Board.
- A degree in environmental health or environmental science and 12 months of experience in practice as an environmental health specialists; or
- A baccalaureate degree in the physical, biological or environmental sciences that includes at least 60 semester credit hours of the sciences described in #1 above, and the lab courses and the math course described in #2 and #3 above. The experience requirement for an applicant with this education background is 12 months of experience in practice as an environmental health specialist.
General requirements: Each degree used to satisfy the education requirement must have been from an accredited college or university in the United States, or an equivalent institution outside the United States.