MARYLAND BOARD OF MORTICIANS AND FUNERAL DIRECTORS
4201 Patterson Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21215
Telephone Number: 410-764-4792

INSTRUCTIONS
FOR
PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE LICENSE
NOTE:

- Please carefully review the law noted on the attached application form, specifically
§7-308.

- Please complete the entire application form.

- Please have the Supervising Mortician complete and have notarized the attached form
entitled, “Supervising Mortician Certification of Responsibility”

- Please submit to the Board the following:
- Completed “Application for Personal Representative License” form

- Completed and Notarized “Supervising Mortician Certification of
Responsibility™ form

- Documentation that the above-noted applicant is the appointed personal
representative of the deceased licensee’s estate in accordance with Title 5 of the
Estates and Trusts Article — Submit to the Board of Morticians a certified copy of
the “Letters of Administration™.

- Within 30 days, submits to the Board of Morticians verification of the death of
the licensed mortician or funeral director.

- The fee noted on this application form in check form made payable to the
Maryland Board of Morticians.
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MARYLAND BOARD OF MORTICIANS AND FUNERAL DIRECTORS
4201 Patterson Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21215-2299

APPLICATION FOR PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE LICENSE
(T'he Personal Representative License is only issued for a six (6) month period and cannot be renewed.)

FEE:  $150 — Check Made Payable to the Maryland Board of Morticians

Health Oceupations Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, Title 7, Morticians Act
§7-308.1. Personal Representutive License

(a) In general- A personal representative of a deceased mortician's or funeral director's estate shall be licensed by the Board before continuing operation of the
mortuary science business,
(b) Requirements.- The Board shall issue an executor license to an applicant if the applicant:

(1) Is the appoimed personal representative of o deceased mortician's or funeral director's esune in accordunce with the requirements established in
Title 5 ol the Estates and Trusts Article,

{2) Submits to the Board, within 30 days of the death of the licensed mortician or funeral director, written verification of the death of the licensee,
written verification of appointment as o personal representative, and the application required by the Board; and

(3) Pays a fee set by the Board.

(¢) Sale of business permitted.- Nothing in this section shull prevent i personal representative from selling the mortuary science business that wus operated and
wholly or partly owned by the licensed funeral director or licensed mortician,

(d) Awthorized acuvities,- Except as provided in subsection (¢) of this section, while an executor license is effective, it authorizes the licensee 101

(1) Continue operation of the mortuary science business that had been operated and wholly or purtly owned by the deceased mortician or funeral
director; and

12) Assist with the planning und conducting of funeral services for that mortuary science business.

(e} Licensed morticun regquired. The Bourd may 1ssue a heense under this section only 1t
(1) The business is operated under the direet supervision of a Heensed mortician ot funeral director; and
(2) The embalming services are provided by a licensed mortician,

(1) Expiration.- Notwithstanding the provisions ol § 7-314 of this subtitle, an executor license is valid for six months from the date ol issuance and may not be
renewed or reinstated after expiration,

() Continuation after expiration, = A personal representative who wishes (o continue operation of 4 mortuary science business upon expiristion ol the executor
license must qualify and be licensed as a mortician or o funeral director, or be the holder of a surviving spouse or corporation license.,

ESTATE OF:

(Name and License Number of Deceased Licensee)
FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE NUMBER:
FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT NAME;
ADDRESS:

NAME OF APPLICANT:

ADDRESS:

HOME TELEPHONE #: BUSINESS TELEPHONE #: —
Signature of Applicant Date

NAME OF SUPERVISING MORTICIAN: LICENSE #:

ADDRESS:

HOME TELEPHONE #:

Signature of Supervising Mortician Date

Required Documentation:  The following documentation must ace any this ication.
- Documentation that the above-noted applicant is the appointed personal representative of the deceased
licensee’s estate in accordance with Title 5 of the Estates and Trusts Article — Submit to the Board of
Morticians a certified copy of the  “Letters of Administration™,

- Within 30 days, submits to the Board of Morticians verification of the death of the licensed mortician
or funeral director,
E Submits to the Board of Morticians the fee noted on this application form in cheek form,

SEPTEMBER 2009
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STATE OF MARYLAND

DHMH

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
4201 Patterson Avenue * Baltimore, Maryland 21215-2299

Martin O*Mulley, Governor - Anthony G, Brown, Lt. Governor ~ John M, Colmers, Secretary

State Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors

SUPERVISING MORTICIAN CERTIFICATION OF RESPONSIBILITY
For Personal Representative Licensee

I License No, , understand that 1 shall be the supervising mortician of
(Supervising Mortician)
sald funeral establishment and shall, therefore, be responsible for all ransactions conducted within the funeral establishment and
throughout its entire scope of services, including responsibilities for all advertisements made in connection with said funcral
establishment, | further understand that | shall be physically present on an as-needed basis to perform the supervision of funeral
arrangements, to conduct funerals and dispose of dead human bodies by burial or cremations, 1 agree that | shall be personally
responsible for funerals services by , funeral establishment, and the employees
of the funeral establishment, | further agree that the funeral establishment operated under the Personal Representative License shall be
equipped, maintained and conducted strictly in compliance with the laws of the State of Maryland, in particular, with the Mortician
Act, Title 7, Health Occupations Article, Annotated Code, all applicable Federal Trade Commission (FTC Funeral Rules) and OSHA
rules, | further affirm that should my authority for the acceptance of such responsibility cease, | will immediately notify the Board.

(Signature of Supervising Mortician)

The Health Occupations Article, [1-202, requires that you verify that you are complying with the Workerls Compensation Law for
your renewal 1o be issued.

[ hereby certify one of the following:
[ do not practice in Maryland
[ do not employ anyone in Maryland
I employ one or more persons in Maryland and have the following Workers Compensation coverage.

Insurance Company (Workerls Compensation only) Policy Number Expiration Date

STATE OF MARYLAND - CITY/COUNTY OF

| HEREBY CERTIFY that on this day of , 20 . before me. a
Notary Public of the State and County aforesaid, personally appeared
and made oath in due form of law that the foregoing was his/her voluntary act and deed.

AS WITNESS my hand and Notarial Seal,

Notary Public

My Commission Expires;

410-764-4792 « Fax 410-358-0571
Toll Free 1-877-4MD-DHMH = TTY for Disabled ~ Maryland Relay Service 1-800-735-2258
Web Sire: www.dhmh.state.md.us/bom



