[bookmark: _GoBack]Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners
Spring Grove Hospital Center  Benjamin Rush Building
55 Wade Avenue  Tulip Drive
Catonsville, Maryland  21228
(410) 402-8511

APPLICATION FOR A TEACHER’S LICENSE 
DENTISTRY OR DENTAL HYGIENE

Notice For Mailing List:
The information collected on this application form is collected for the purposes of the Board’s functions under the Annotated Code of MD, Health Occupations Article, Title 4.  Failure to provide the information may result in denial of your application.  You have a right to inspect, amend, and request correction of this information.  The Board may permit inspection of this information or make it available to others only as permitted by federal and State law.  Under the Maryland Public Information Act, Annotated Code of Maryland, General Provisions Article, §4-333, the Board may provide, for a fee, a list of licensees’ names and addresses to professional associations and other entities.  You may request in writing that your name be omitted from such lists.

Information for Veterans, Service Members, and Military Spouses

Please note the following: 

“Veteran” is a former service member who was discharged from active duty under circumstances other than dishonorable within 1 (one) year before the date on which this application has been submitted. “Veteran” does not include an individual who has completed active duty and has been discharged for more than 1 year before the application for a license, certificate, or permit is submitted. 

“Service member” is a an individual who is an active duty member of the armed forces of the United States, a reserve component of the armed forces of the United States, or the National Guard of any state. 

“Military Spouse” is the spouse of a service member or veteran and includes the surviving spouse of a veteran, or a service member who died within 1 (one) year before the date on which the application for licensure is submitted to the Board.   

Veterans, service members and military spouses are assigned an advisor to assist in the application process.  In addition, the Board will expedite the processing of completed applications for veterans, service members, and military spouses. If you do not meet the education or training or experience requirements for licensure, your advisor will assist you in identifying programs that offer relevant education or training, or ways to obtain the necessary experience. 

Your advisor is Deborah Welch.  Ms. Welch may be reached at 410-402-8511. In Ms. Welch’s absence you may contact Ms. Sandra Sage at 410-402-8510.

Are you a: 

Veteran   |_| Yes    |_| No        Service Member    |_| Yes     |_| No       Military Spouse      |_| Yes    |_| No


SECTION I – GENERAL INFORMATION
	Name 
(Last, First, Middle Initial):
	

	Address of Record:
(Street Address)
	

	City, State, Zip:
	



APPLICATION FEES – MADE PAYABLE TO THE MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS
Dentist:  $225
Dental Hygienist:  $225
Foreign Graduates:  $75 credentials processing fee

[bookmark: Check1][bookmark: Check2][bookmark: Check3][bookmark: Check4][bookmark: Check5][bookmark: Check6][bookmark: Check7][bookmark: Check8][bookmark: Check9]A.  Social Security Number:	|_| |_| |_| - |_| |_| - |_| |_| |_| |_|  
(There is a statutory requirement that you disclose your social security number.  It will be used for identification purposes only.)

B.  Date of Birth:		|_| |_| - |_| |_| - |_| |_| |_| |_|

C.  Home Phone Number:	|_| |_| |_| - |_| |_| |_| -  |_| |_| |_| |_|

D.  Work Phone Number:	|_| |_| |_| - |_| |_| |_| -  |_| |_| |_| |_|

E.  E-Mail Address:				


F.  Gender:	 Female    Male

G.  Race/Ethnic Identification – Please check all that applyAre you of Hispanic or Latino origin?     Yes      No  
(A person of Cuban, Mexican, Puerto Rican, South or Central American, or other Spanish culture or origin, regardless of race.)



Select one or more of the following racial categories:

1.  	American Indian or Alaska Native (A person having origins in any of the original peoples of North or 
South America, including Central America, and who maintains tribal affiliations or community attachment.)

2.  	Asian (A person having origin in any of the original peoples of the Far East, Southeast Asia, or the Indian 
subcontinent including, for example, Cambodia, China, India, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Pakistan, the Philippine Islands, Thailand, and Vietnam.)

3.  	Black or African American (A person having origins in any of the black racial groups of Africa.)

4.  	Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander (A person having origins in the original peoples of Hawaii, Guam, Samoa, or other Pacific Islands.)

5.  	White (A person having origins in any of the original peoples of Europe, the Middle East, or North Africa.)

[bookmark: Check14][bookmark: Check15]H.  Type of License Requested: |_| Dental Teacher’s License	|_| Dental Hygiene Teacher’s License


SECTION II – LICENSURE

|_| Yes	|_| No   I am licensed to practice dentistry or dental hygiene in another state. 

List the state(s) or jurisdiction(s) in which you hold or have ever held a dental or dental hygiene license.  Include license number(s).

	State
	License Number

	
	

	
	

	
	




SECTION III - EDUCATION

A.  School of Graduation (Name, City, State, Country):   __________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________________

B.  Date of Graduation:  ___________________   	Degree Earned:  _____________________________


SECTION IV – SPECIALTIES

Does the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners recognize you as a specialist? |_| Yes	|_| No
If so, please indicate specialty? _________________________________


SECTION V – EDUCATIONAL FACILITY

A.  I will be a full-time or part-time faculty member of: (provide name and address of college or university)

_____________________________________________________________________________________________													

SECTION VI – EXPERIENCE

[bookmark: Check12][bookmark: Check13]|_| Yes	|_| No    I have actively practiced dentistry for at least 5 years. 

|_| Yes	|_| No    I have actively practiced dental hygiene for at least 5 years. 

Note that the practice of dentistry in the armed forces, the practice of dentistry in state and federal programs, participation in post-graduate intern programs, or participation in residency programs within the 5 years preceding application counts toward the required years of active practice.    
                 
(See Guidelines for requirement to submit a notarized statement or documentation of clinical experience.) 
			

SECTION VII - CHARACTER AND FITNESS

If you answer “YES” to any question(s) in Section VII – Character and Fitness, attach a separate page with a complete explanation of each occasion.  Each attachment must have your name in print, signature, and date.  

YES	NO
	
	 	a. Has any licensing or disciplinary board of any jurisdiction, including Maryland, or any federal entity denied your application for licensure, reinstatement, or renewal, or taken any action against your license, including but not limited to reprimand, suspension, revocation, a fine, or non-judicial punishment? If you are under a Board Order or were ever under a Board Order in a state other than Maryland you must enclose a certified legible copy of the entire Order with this application.

	 	b. Have any investigations or charges been brought against you or are any currently pending in any jurisdiction, including Maryland, by any licensing or disciplinary board or any federal or state entity?

		c. Has your application for a dental hygiene license in any jurisdiction been withdrawn for any reason?

	 	d. Has an investigation or charge been brought against you by a hospital, related institution, or alternative health care system?

	 	e. Have you had any denial of application for privileges, failure to renew your privileges, or limitation, restriction, suspension, revocation or loss in privileges in a hospital, related health care facility, or alternative health care system?
		f. Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, had a conviction or receipt of probation before judgment or other
                         diversionary disposition of any criminal act, excluding minor traffic violations?

	 	g. Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, had a conviction, or receipt of probation before judgment or other diversionary disposition for an alcohol or controlled dangerous substance offense, including but not limited to driving while under the influence of alcohol or controlled dangerous substances?

	 	h. Do you have criminal charges pending against you in any court of law, excluding minor traffic violations?

	 	i. Do you have a physical condition that impairs your ability to practice dental hygiene?

		j. Do you have a mental health condition that impairs your ability to practice dental hygiene?

	 	k. Have the use of drugs and/or alcohol resulted in an impairment of your ability to practice dental hygiene?

	 	l. Have you illegally used drugs?

	 	m. Have you surrendered or allowed your license to lapse while under investigation by any licensing or disciplinary board of any jurisdiction, including Maryland, or any federal or state entity?

	 	n. Have you been named as a defendant in a filing or settlement of a malpractice action?



SECTION III - CHARACTER AND FITNESS (CONT’D)

YES	NO
	 	o. Has your employment been affected or have you voluntarily resigned from any employment, in any setting, or have you been terminated or suspended, from any hospital, related health care or other institution, or any federal entity for any disciplinary reasons or while under investigation for disciplinary reasons?


The Well Being Committee assists dentists, dental hygienists, and their families who are experiencing personal problems.  The 
Committee has helped many dentists and dental hygienists over the years with problems such as stress, drug dependence, alcoholism, 
depression, medical problems, infectious diseases, neurological disorders and other illnesses that cause impairment.  For more 
information, dentists may visit www.dentistwellbeing.com. Dental hygienists may call 1-800-974-0068 or visit the website at 
www.mdhawell-being.org.

Incomplete applications will be returned and will be subject to a $50.00 application reprocessing fee.

Notice for Mailing List:
The information collected on this application form is collected for the purposes of the Board’s functions under the Annotated Code of MD, Health Occupations Article, Title 4.  Failure to provide the information may result in denial of your application.  You have a right to inspect, amend, and request correction of this information.  The Board may permit inspection of this information or make it available to others only as permitted by federal and State law.  Under the Maryland Public Information Act, the Annotated Code of MD, State Government Article, §10-617, the Board may provide, for a fee, a list of licensees’ names and addresses to professional associations and other entities.  You may request in writing that your name be omitted from such lists.

Applicant Signature
I hereby affirm that I have read and followed the above instructions.  I hereby certify that all information in this application is accurate and correct.


_________________________________________________________________		_______________________________
Applicant Signature									Date

NOTARY SECTION

State of ___________________, County of _________________, then personally appeared the above named

______________________________________, and signed and sworn to the truth of the foregoing statements in my 
presence.

	Notary Public:  __________________________   My Commission Expires:  __________________
 


SEAL




MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Application for a Teacher’s License 
Dentistry or Dental Hygiene

Check List for Dentists

Please review prior to sending your application package to the Board.

Incomplete applications will be returned and will be subject to a $50.00 application reprocessing fee.

Path 1 Candidates

|_|	1.	Is your application completed front and back?

· Did you sign and have the application notarized?

|_|	2.	Did you enclose the non-refundable fee in a check or money order made payable to the Maryland State 
Board of Dental Examiners?

[bookmark: Check11]|_|	3.	Did you enclose one photo that is between 2x2-inches and 3x3-inches with the required notarized 
                          affidavit?  Note that the photo will be affixed to your license.  The photo must meet the following 
                          guidelines: taken within the last 2 years to reflect your current appearance; front view of full face
                          from top of hair to shoulders; a natural expression; no hat; or head covering that obscures the hair
		or hairline, unless worn daily for religious purposes; no sunglasses, headphones, wireless hands-free 	
		devices or similar items; no other individuals or distractions in the photo.  Photos copied or digitally
		scanned from driver’s licenses or other official documents are not acceptable.  In addition, low quality 
		vending machine or mobile phone photos are not acceptable.  “Passport” photos are acceptable. 
		Unacceptable photos will be returned and shall delay the issuance of your license.

|_|	4.	Did you enclose certified proof of your dental education, such as a copy of a diploma or a letter from the 
school? Please note that the original embossed school seal must be affixed to copies of transcripts and 
diplomas submitted to the Board.

|_|	5.	Did you enclose certified letters with the state seal affixed from each state in which you hold or have ever 
held a license, verifying that the license is or was in good standing and that no disciplinary action has ever 
been taken against the license?

|_|	6.	Did you enclose a notarized affidavit, or other evidence satisfactory to the Board, that you have been 
active in the dental profession for at least 5 years.

|_|	7.	Did you enclose a letter from the institution at which you will be teaching requesting that a Teacher’s 
License be issued to the applicant and confirming that the applicant is a full-time or part-time faculty member at the institution? 

|_|	8.	Did you enclose documentation of legal name change (i.e. marriage certificate) if the documents sent with 
the application are in another name?


Path 2 Candidates – See Reverse Side




Path 2 Candidates

|_|	1.	Is your application completed front and back?

· Did you sign and have the application notarized?

|_|	2.	Did you enclose the non-refundable fee in a check or money order made payable to the Maryland State 
Board of Dental Examiners?

|_|	3.	Did you enclose one photo that is between 2x2-inches and 3x3-inches with the required notarized 
                          affidavit?  Note that the photo will be affixed to your license.  The photo must meet the following 
                          guidelines: taken within the last 2 years to reflect your current appearance; front view of full face
                          from top of hair to shoulders; a natural expression; no hat; or head covering that obscures the hair
		or hairline, unless worn daily for religious purposes; no sunglasses, headphones, wireless hands-free 	
		devices or similar items; no other individuals or distractions in the photo.  Photos copied or digitally
		scanned from driver’s licenses or other official documents are not acceptable.  In addition, low quality 
		vending machine or mobile phone photos are not acceptable.  “Passport” photos are acceptable. 
		Unacceptable photos will be returned and shall delay the issuance of your license.

|_|	4.	Did you enclose a copy of a degree or diploma issued to the applicant by the foreign dental school 
conferring it, properly authenticated by an official of that foreign dental school authorized to make the 
authentication?

|_|	5.	Did you enclose a copy of the subjects taken and credits earned by the applicant at the foreign dental 
school duly authenticated by an official of that foreign dental school authorized to make the 
authentication?

[bookmark: Check16]|_|	6.	If applicable, did you enclose a copy of the license to practice dentistry issued by the foreign country, or 
the proper subdivision of the foreign country, in which the applicant has graduated, duly authenticated by 
the issuing authority?

[bookmark: Check17]|_|	7.	Did you enclose a translation into English of a degree, diploma or license required to be furnished to the 
Board, certified by an individual acceptable to the Board, is issued in a language other than English?

[bookmark: Check18]|_|	8.	Did you enclose two (2) letters of recommendation, written by persons acceptable to the Board, which 
shall certify to the Board the good moral character of the applicant and the applicant’s age, qualifications,
background, and experience?

[bookmark: Check19]|_|	9.	Did you enclose proof satisfactory to the Board that the applicant has at least 5 years of clinical dental 
experience?

[bookmark: Check20]|_|	10.	Did you enclose proof satisfactory to the Board that the applicant is professionally competent?

[bookmark: Check21]|_|	11.	Did you enclose a letter from the Dean, University of Maryland Dental School requesting that a Teacher’s 
License be issued to the applicant and confirming that the applicant is a full-time or part-time faculty 
member and requesting a waiver of the criteria in Path 1?		                                          

[bookmark: Check22]|_|	12.	If applicable, did you enclose evidence of legal name change, such as a marriage certificate or court 
documents? 



Path 1 Candidates – See Reverse Side



MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

GUIDELINES FOR APPLYING FOR A TEACHER’S LICENSE - DENTISTRY

The Board may not process a licensure application until each provision or requirement is met and each document is received.  Please ensure that your application is complete before it is submitted.


Path 1 Candidates 

A dentist is eligible for a dental teacher’s license if the dentist meets the following criteria:
 
a.  	Be of good moral character; and

b.	Be at least 21 years of age; and

c.  	Holds a Degree of Doctor of Dental Surgery, Doctor of Dental Medicine, or its equivalent, from a college or university that is authorized by any state of the United States or any province of Canada to grant a degree and is recognized by the board as requiring adequate professional collegiate training and as maintaining an acceptable course of dental instruction; and 

d.   	Be licensed to practice dentistry in any other state; and 

e.   	Have been active in the dental profession for at least five (5) years; and 

f.	Be a full-time or part-time faculty member at a college or university where the applicant teaches a subject required by the dental school of that college or university; and 

g.  	Meets the requirements established by the American Dental Association for the specialty, if the applicant is engaged in a teaching area designated as a specialty by the American Dental Association.

Note that the practice of dentistry in the armed forces, the practice of dentistry in state and federal programs, participation in post-graduate intern programs, or participation in residency programs within the 5 years preceding application counts toward the required years of active practice. 


Path 2 Candidates – University of Maryland Dental School Faculty

A dentist who does not meet the Path 1 criteria may be eligible for a dental teacher’s license if the dentist has been appointed to a full-time faculty position at the University of Maryland Dental School and meets the following criteria:  

a.	Be at least 21 years of age; and

b.	Holds a Degree of Doctor of Dental Surgery, Doctor of Dental Medicine, or an equivalent degree from a school, college or faculty of dentistry; and

c.	Demonstrates that the applicant has had at least 5 years of clinical dental experience; and 

d.	Is found to be of good moral character and professionally competent; and

e.	The Dean of the University of Maryland Dental School requests the waiver and circumstances exist that justify the granting of a waiver.

Note that the practice of dentistry in the armed forces, the practice of dentistry in state and federal programs, participation in post-graduate intern programs, or participation in residency programs within the 5 years preceding application counts toward the required years of active practice.

To apply for licensure, submit the Application for a Teacher’s License – Dentistry or Dental Hygiene and enclose the following with your application:


Path 1 Candidates

· A $225 non-refundable fee. A money order or check made payable to the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners.  

· A photograph that meets the requirements contained in the Checklist with the following notarized statement:
“The picture is a true photograph of me.”

· Certified proof of your dental education.  Acceptable proof includes a certified copy of a diploma, a letter from the school, or official transcripts.  Please do not submit your original copy.  The document must contain the raised, embossed school seal certifying its authenticity.  However, letters from educational institutions on original letterhead, bearing an original signature do not require a raised, embossed school seal. 

· A certified letter with the state seal affixed from each state in which you hold or have ever held a license, verifying that the license is or was in good standing and that no disciplinary action has ever been taken again the license. 

· A notarized statement attesting to the applicant’s active practice history of at least 5 years preceding application in Maryland for licensure as a Dental Teacher.  The statement must include the dates of practice, hours practiced, and location of practice. 

· A letter from the institution at which you will be teaching requesting that a Teacher’s License be issued to the applicant and confirming that the applicant is a full-time or part-time faculty member at the institution. 

· If applicable, evidence of legal name change, such as a marriage certificate or court document                                      

Note that the practice of dentistry in the armed forces, the practice of dentistry in state and federal programs, participation in post-graduate intern programs, or participation in residency programs within the 5 years preceding application counts toward the required years of active practice. 
Path 2 Candidates

· A $300 non-refundable fee. A money order or check made payable to the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners.

· A photograph that meets the requirements contained in the Checklist with the following notarized statement:
“The picture is a true photograph of me.”

· A copy of a degree or diploma issued to the applicant by the foreign dental school conferring it, properly authenticated by an official of that foreign dental school authorized to make the authentication; and

· A copy of the subjects taken and the credits earned by the applicant at the foreign dental school duly authenticated by an official of that foreign dental school authorized to make the authentication; and

· If the applicant has been licensed to practice dentistry in a foreign country, a copy of the license to practice dentistry issued by the foreign country, or the proper subdivision of the foreign country, in which the applicant has graduated, duly authenticated by the issuing authority; and 

· A translation into English of a degree, diploma or license required to be furnished to the Board, certified by an individual acceptable to the Board, if issued in a language other than English; and

· Two letters of recommendation, written by persons acceptable to the Board, which shall certify to the Board the good moral character of the applicant and the applicant’s age, qualifications, background and experience, if any; and

· A letter from the Dean of the college or university in which the applicant is to teach a subject indicating that the applicant possesses sufficient comprehension and communication skills in written and spoken English to enable the applicant to adequately teach dentistry.

· Proof satisfactory to the Board that the applicant has at least 5 years of clinical dental experience; and 

· Proof satisfactory to the Board that the applicant is professionally competent; and              

· From the Dean, University of Maryland Dental School requesting that a Teacher’s License be issued to the applicant and confirming that the applicant is a full-time or part-time faculty member and requesting a waiver of the criteria in Path I; and 

· If applicable, evidence of legal name change, such as a marriage certificate or court documents.


Note that the practice of dentistry in the armed forces, the practice of dentistry in state and federal programs, participation in post-graduate intern programs, or participation in residency programs within the 5 years preceding application counts toward the required years of active practice. 


Incomplete applications will be returned and will be subject to a $50.00 application reprocessing fee.

MAIL APPLICATION AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS TO:

Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners
Spring Grove Hospital Center
Benjamin Rush Building
55 Wade Avenue • Tulip Drive
Catonsville, MD  21228
ATTN:  Licensing Unit



















	



			
