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 STATE OF MARYLAND 

DHMH Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners

Department of Health and Mental Hygiene

Spring Grove Hospital Center • Benjamin Rush Building

55 Wade Avenue/Tulip Drive • Catonsville, Maryland 21228
                                            Lawrence J. Hogan, Governor – Boyd K. Rutherford, Lt. Governor – Van T. Mitchell, Secretary 
AFFIDAVIT
Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners 
CLASS I, CLASS II, AND CLASS III ANESTHESIA AND SEDATION PERMIT HOLDERS
An applicant for the renewal of a Class I, Class II, or Class III Anesthesia and Sedation Permit must submit the following Affidavit with their renewal application if the applicant has not treated a patient under moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia with an “incident” since the issuance of their original permit. An “incident” is defined as “dental treatment performed on a patient under moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia with unforeseen complications.” If you have treated a patient with an “incident” you must submit an affidavit that conforms to the Code of Maryland Regulations, (COMAR) 10.44.12.08G. A copy of the Board’s regulations may be found in its website at www.dhmh.state.md.us/dental.  

Please note that under COMAR 10.44.12.34, a dentist shall report to the Board, in writing, any death caused by or resulting from the dentist’s administration of anxiolysis, moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia within 7 days of its occurrence. In addition, within 15 days of its occurrence, a dentist shall report to the Board, in writing, any complication or disabling incident requiring admission to a hospital either for a period greater than 24 hours, or for the purposes other than observation, as a result of the dentist’s administration of anxiolysis, moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia. (The requirements of this paragraph apply to every dentist whether or not the dentist holds a permit). 

AFFIDAVIT

I ______________________​​​​​​____________________(name as it appears on your permit) hereby declare and affirm under penalty of perjury that since the issuance of my original permit I have not treated a patient under moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia with an incident. 

























_____________________________










Signature 

NOTARY
State of _______________________, County of __________________________, then personally appeared the above named _______________________________, and signed and sworn to the truth of the foregoing statements in my presence. 



Notary Public:_______________________ My Commission Expires: __________________

SEAL
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